My corn whisky, week 2

my white dog has now been in the barrel for 2 weeks, and I ventured a sip! To read an introduction to this experiment, click here. here are my notes:

appearance: straw coloured

nose: oily, still far from tame…the rye from the previous fill has definitely made it’s presence shown here. there’s a bit of a barnyard aroma to it which I don’t find altogether too pleasant – I’m hoping the wood will tame that out some more. there’s some lovely sweet cinnamon, though, which I’m excited about.

taste: burns all around your mouth as you take a sip, and certainly is rye-heavy – both from the mash but added in from the rye present in the cask from the previous fill. there’s a bit of caramel and vanilla, but not much fruitiness. Very spicy…I am hoping some more sweet nature will creep in as I let it sit. Certainly a bit discoradant to the palate at the moment, and not showing as much promise as my rye did…

finish: medium length, with a bit of sweet vanilla  alongside some spicy rye. the vanilla dies out soon enough, and then does the rye, leaving a slightly sweet oak.

needs some more development! I’ll take another sip this week or the next, and post notes…

(to see the next post in this series, click here)

One thought on “My corn whisky, week 2

  1. Pingback: Buffalo Trace White Dog, Mash #1: Tasting Notes and the Start of my second whisky creation | Whisky Won

Leave a Reply

