My corn whisky: week 7

If you haven’t been following, I’m maturing my own whisky. The introduction to this project is here.

I thought I would post a quick update as my whisky keeps developing. The flavor keeps developing – but it is slower than I thought it would have been. Now, my whisky is drinkable – but it is still a far cry from having bourbon aromas and flavours. However, I am interested to see things transform.

nose: the barnyard aroma is shifting a bit (thankfully!), and there is lots of vanilla, oak (it’s light though), dried corn, and spice

taste: sweet corn, still quite intense, still a lot of raw oils from the new make. the rye spice does finish it off nicely.

finish: lots of nice vanilla

(to see the next post in this series, click here)

One thought on “My corn whisky: week 7

  1. Pingback: My Corn Whisky Tasting Notes, Week 4 | Whisky Won

Leave a Reply

