Fast Review: Cragganmore 12 Years Old Single Speyside Malt

I saw a line of Cragganmore whiskies in a store window and I thought maybe I’d get out my tasting notes from some time ago when I reviewed the whisky.

Nose: apple sauce, hint of peat, oak vanilla, brown sugar, bit of cinnamon, vanilla…I had hoped for a bit more from the nose based on the description on the box. 25/30 (83%)

Taste: a bit of a spicy entry before the sweetness hits, quite malty with bits of smoke in the background, relatively sweet with bits of apples, fades with some oak spice. 24/30 (80%)

Finish: fades with some very nice oak spice and lingering maltiness 16.5/20 (83%)

Conclusion: I do like it….it’s a good dram, but not necessarily a great one…15/20 (75%)

Overall: 80.5/20

Leave a Reply

