Review: White Owl Canadian Whisky

White Owl 2 (Large)Here is a rarity – an aged white whisky. Highwood Distillers in High River, Alberta crafted this one for the premium cocktail market, to compete with premium vodkas and mixing drinks. It is made from wheat and rye whiskies, aged for as long as 12 years, with a particularly high rye content. After the whisky is aged, it is filtered through beds of charcoal, stripping it of colour, and removing a lot of flavours – lightening up the spirit and changing it. A lot of rye is used in the whisky because much of the flavour gets stripped out, and the blenders want some of the rye to come through.

This is not crafted to be a sipping whisky, so I hesitated for a while to post a rating because it is not a sipping whisky, in the traditional sense (much like the last one I reviewed, Proof Whisky). However, I will post it, with the qualification that this is an absolutely fabulous whisky to mix – and is one of my favourites to use. While that is said, I still don’t mind sipping this – it’s just quite a bit different. Also, it is a wonderful tribute to Canadian whisky – which is largely mixed. Indeed, much of Canadian whisky is made not to be sipped slowly neat, but to be sipped as a component of a cocktail. It is thanks to this fact that Canadian whisky, until very recently, was the most consumed whisky in the US, even above bourbon and scotch (I think it was overtaken within the last year or two). As I myself have had a growing appreciation for good cocktails, I will be returning to write some more on cocktails and in particular cocktails with this whisky once I have done some more research and experimentation.

The oak has done its good work on this one, and the effect is similar to the work of good oak on a well aged whisky (a good 18 year old, honeyed, viscous, and balanced) compared to a 12 year old version – but on a vodka or white rum as a base, not a whisky. Complexity, body, finish, and grip are all added. I compared a diluted vodka and diluted White Owl (both to the same strength), and the white owl is much softer, rounder, with much more flavour, body, and richness – even diluted. It shows why all the cocktail folk are buzzing about this one….

Nose: This one, of course, is quite different. Quite spirit-like – with lots of vapours coming off the nose in the style of a vodka rather than a whisky. There’s a buttery note, with a bit of vanilla, almost a bit like some rum-flavoured candies or buttery caramels, and a hint of light honey. There’s also a bit of negative bitterness and meatiness with some rye whiskies that I find – but it isn’t that prominent and isn’t really that much of a detraction. It’s very simple – the light, buttery caramel is quite nice though. 21.5/30 (72%)

Taste: Clean, and distinctly buttery, with some light vanilla, caramel, a touch of molasses and brown sugar, and a slight sweet edge (though not that sweet). It is quite clean, yet it is quite rich despite being not overly complex. It reminds me of many of the sweet and honeyed notes of Jack Daniel’s, and, indeed, I have tasted Jack Daniel’s in a comparitive tasting and found it strongly reminded me of this – I suppose that charcoal filtration in both whiskies does unearth certain flavours to the surface. 25/30 (83%)

Finish: Very clean, with some rye spice coming through – cinnamon, clove, and a bit of the buttery, rich taste on the palate – which remains for some time, with a touch of oak even coming out from time to time. Surprisingly spicy, in fact – spicier than the whole experience so far, I think. 15.5/20 (78%)

Conclusion: As I said earlier, I feel bad rating this as a sipping whisky, because it is not. It’s still pleasant to sip, though the nose isn’t great. However, really, if you have a bottle of this it White Owl 3 (Large)needs to be mixed – that’s what it was crafted for and that’s what it’s really good at. From what I’ve heard, Highwood can’t keep up with demand for this, because of all the mixologists. It would provide a great twist on white rum cocktails, as well as give some depth and breadth to many vodka cocktails. 15.5/20 (78%)

Overall Score: 77.5/100

 

2 thoughts on “Review: White Owl Canadian Whisky

  1. I just happened to pick up a bottle tonight and noticed your retweet from Davin. I agree it is good as a mix or on a hot evening with some ice. I really notice the sweetness like candy sugar and then the anise or licorice flavor. It has a good finish, I like the after taste that lingers. I will check out some of your other reviews later. Ken

  2. Pingback: My Top 15 “Mid-Range” Canadian Whiskies (Sept. 2014) | Whisky Won

Leave a Reply

